News Headlines
Sun. Jun 20th 2021
Chief Barber –43 Years of ServiceCongratulations and thank you to Chief Al Barber for over 50 years in the fire service, over 40 years with Hinesburg and over 20 years as Hinesburg Fire Chief.Al...
Fri. May 28th 2021
Ambulance Design FinalizedAfter weeks of looking at ambulances from surrounding services, a trip by four members to Maine, and reviewing and tweaking specification prints, HFD members have finalized t...
Sat. Apr 24th 2021
Smoke in Basement Call Quickly EscalatesJust after 1pm, April 14, Hinesburg Fire was dispatched to Martel Lane in ST George for a report of smoke in the basement of a home. Dispatch reported the resi...
Sat. Mar 27th 2021
Call LogMedical – HFD responded to 22 medical calls with 19 patients transported.There were 2 non-injury motor vehicle crashes.Feb 6: As reported last month, Hinesburg was dispatched to a repor...
Fri. Feb 26th 2021
Smoke Coming from EavesAt 10:54am Saturday, Feb 6, Hinesburg Fire was dispatched to a residence on Swamp Rd. A passerby called 911 reporting grey smoke coming from the eaves.Chief Barber responded di...
Burn Permit FAQ

 How do I get a burn permit ?

       This is done by contacting Shelburne Dispatch Center @ 985 8051 and remember to be kind and courteous they are providing a very valuable service to the town of Hinesburg at no cost. Also the determination of weather a permit is issued is not up to Shelburne Dispatch Center they will only issue at the discretion of the fire warden.

 

What can I burn ?

Any natural vegetation i.e. tree, brush and grass are fine. You are also allowed to burn untreated wood products witch means wood that has no paint or wood that is not pressure treated. Household trash is not permitted for burning under the state of Vermont clean air act (Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. § 2201)

 

 It is very Important never leave a burn unattended it can spread very quickly and do a lot damage to property both your own and your neighbors.

 

 

 Any one found to be violating these rules for burning may have their permits  revoked and be refused future permits and could face a possible fine up to 500$ under State Clean Air act (Sec. 1. 24 V.S.A. § 2201)

 

Can I burn at night ?

All the rules laid out above apply to both Day and night time burns with a couple of additions for nighttime burning

  You will need to call for a permit before 8PM

  The fire must be compleatly extinguished when you retire for the evening

 

Anyone burning without a permit will be asked to put the fire out if the fire is not put out the Hinesburg fire department will send a truck to put the fire out and the person responsible may have future permits refused

 

All fires need to be in a open area away from houses and other structures and should not be placed next to roadways as they can cause a distraction to passing drivers

 

Can I Burn  brush if I live  in a Trailer Park?

Yes, but only in a contained ourdoor fireplace or covered burn pit

 

Any fires deemed unsafe with or with out a permit will be put out.

 

If a fire gets out of control do not hesitate to call 911

 


© 2021 Hinesburg Fire Department